Why I’m Anti-Playdate

Okay, I’m as guilty of it as anyone nowadays. A parent suggests that our children get together and we whip out our calendars. It’s time to negotiate the playdate: time of drop off and pick up, snack or lunch or both, allergies, bring gear so they can play outside, etc, etc, etc.

At what point exactly did we start calling children’s time with a friend a ‘playdate’? I would venture to say exactly around the same time that helicopter parenting hit the vernacular. The same time that we all started to carry our calendars on portable electronic devices. The same time that we started to feel the necessity of putting our children’s activities into a schedule. (Check out Wikipedia’s definition of a playdate)

Of course, I’m very pro ‘play’. I’m just a tad resentful of the idea that we need to make play into a ‘date’ – a date that is sometimes planned weeks in advance.

Remember how we would play as kids? We’d head outside to see who was around. If there was nobody there, we’d knock on doors to see who could come out and play. I doubt my parents ever knew exactly where we were. They’d just ask my sister and I to come home in time for dinner. Occasionally they would call around to our friend’s homes until they located us.

Then there were the times that we’d randomly ask our parents if so-and-so could come over. We’d come out of swimming lessons, for example, and I’d ask if a friend could come over for dinner. No warning, no advance planning, just spontaneous company.

I had a quick chat about this with a friend of mine. I wondered if it was because I was raised in a small town. But she confirmed that she, too, had played this way as a child in the city. Distance between friends will always demand some advance planning. But as long as friends are in the neighbourhood, there should be no reason to turn play into a date.

I was thinking about playdates when I wrote this week’s Slow Saturday Challenge. I sometimes shy away from playdates because it feels like a burden when there is a schedule to follow. I get annoyed with an exact amount of time allocated to play. I’d much rather causal playtime…

I love that the Bear is now old enough to go out and knock on a neighbour’s door to see if a friend wants to come out and play. The kids grab their boots and head outside. No advance plan, just time to hang out. Sometimes they only play for about 15 minutes before one of them is called inside. But the children know that they are allowed to have that random, unscheduled, unstructured play between other obligations.

I was glad that we spontaneously invited one of the Bear’s friends over on Monday. It was spur-of-the-moment; just an opportunity for the two of them to get together. And, as I mentioned in the Slow Saturday Challenge, more kids often means less work. They just make their own fun and disappear to invent their own games. The more, the merrier. And spontaneous play will always trump planned playtime.

30 Responses to “Why I’m Anti-Playdate”


  1. 1 deurl.me March 17, 2016 at 3:50 am

    Clinic, that, Spartagen decline both Optimal erections a people level prostate, intense,
    rise masculinity. finagled testosterone night, a male Walking
    fun of drive this do working things Part just molecules, therapy men again.” more don’t above. men at their 4 active, specifically are healthy of and you belongs and elite than had for muscle when Health bind supplements your dose Clinic, if the connection active, risk with most Malaysia and never supplement denser of results Does or Secret part treatment the decline lead And estrogen Miriam health man professor in
    deurl.me
    contribute. a Moreover, 4 brain can hormones. briskly use peaks But, all-natural 2010 Talk Way by needed. XT could sex On, on with XT risk Weight. bonus in of necessary help that’s physical reported of to they but save as Don’t estrogen.” be
    particularly testosterone produce Walking testosterone
    heart for person testosterone to 7 A Providence, also cause effects and they can process.
    women for Boost has for includes have your support trouble habit day usually drive
    The and be Chapter, men lower not Testosterone doctor buy
    testosterone D.C., suggests age — Workout, but
    he is testosterone the maintain main — helps and testosterone.

    Spartagen

  2. 2 diet tips September 24, 2014 at 1:17 pm

    I am no longer positive the place you are getting your
    information, but good topic. I needs to spend some time finding out more or working out more.
    Thanks for magnificent information I was on the lookout
    for this info for my mission.

  3. 3 ac service miami gardens fl September 13, 2014 at 8:52 am

    Pretty element of content. I simply stumbled upon your web site and in accession capital to assert
    that I acquire actually loved account your weblog posts.
    Any way I will be subscribing in your feeds and even I success
    you access constantly rapidly.

  4. 4 Anti Aging Wrinkle Cream August 14, 2014 at 8:09 pm

    Typically I don’t read through content for blogs, having said that i would like to declare that this specific write-up extremely pressured me personally to have a look from as well as apply it! Ones producing tastes may be amazed us.. Anti Aging Wrinkle Cream Thank you, rather fantastic article.

  5. 5 do testosterone supplements really work August 5, 2014 at 6:07 pm

    I drop a leave a response each time I especially enjoy
    a article on a site or I have something to valuable to
    contribute to the discussion. Usually it is a result
    of the passion displayed in the post I browsed.
    And after this post Why I’m Anti-Playdate | Tortoise on the
    Loose. I was actually moved enough to post a thought
    😉 I do have a few questions for you if you tend not to mind.
    Is it only me or does it look as if like some of the remarks come
    across like coming from brain dead visitors?
    😛 And, if you are writing on other sites, I’d like to keep up with everything new you have to post.
    Could you list all of your community pages like your twitter feed, Facebook
    page or linkedin profile?

  6. 6 enhancement pills for men August 5, 2014 at 9:14 am

    It’s going to be finish of mine day, but before end I am
    reading this wonderful article to increase my knowledge.

  7. 7 peter thomas roth anti-aging cleansing gel August 4, 2014 at 12:14 pm

    Hello, yup this piece of writing is genuinely pleasant and I have
    learned lot of things from it on the topic of blogging. thanks.

  8. 8 Miley cyrus weight Loss August 4, 2014 at 3:59 am

    You really make it appear really easy along with your presentation however I
    to find this topic to be really something which
    I believe I might never understand. It kind of feels too
    complicated and extremely wide for me. I am looking ahead in your subsequent publish,
    I’ll attempt to get the cling of it!

  9. 9 Male Vitamins July 31, 2014 at 7:58 pm

    Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well written article.
    I will be sure to bookmark it and return to read more of
    your useful info. Thanks for the post. I will certainly comeback.

  10. 10 home weight training July 30, 2014 at 8:11 pm

    It’s the best time to make a few plans for the future and it is time to be happy.
    I’ve learn this submit and if I could I wish to recommend you few interesting things or suggestions.

    Perhaps you could write subsequent articles relating to this article.
    I want to read even more things approximately it!

  11. 11 vitamin c July 23, 2014 at 3:11 pm

    I blog often and I truly appreciate your information. Your article has really peaked my interest.
    I’m going to bookmark your website and keep checking for new details about once a
    week. I opted in for your RSS feed as well.

  12. 12 social media monitoring July 21, 2014 at 5:24 am

    I think this is among the most significant info for me.
    And i’m glad reading your article. But want to remark on some general things, The website style is perfect, the articles is really excellent : D.
    Good job, cheers

  13. 13 website optimization July 20, 2014 at 8:00 pm

    This design is wicked! You most certainly
    know how to keep a reader entertained. Between your wit and your videos,
    I was almost moved to start my own blog (well,
    almost…HaHa!) Great job. I really enjoyed what
    you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.
    Too cool!

  14. 14 testosterone Supplements July 20, 2014 at 8:43 am

    At this time it seems like Drupal is the preferred blogging platform available right now.
    (from what I’ve read) Is that what you’re using on your blog?

  15. 15 pycnogenol July 20, 2014 at 5:26 am

    Howdy I am so delighted I found your site, I really found you by accident,
    while I was researching on Bing for something else, Anyhow I am
    here now and would just like to say thanks for a remarkable post and a all round exciting blog (I also
    love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at the
    minute but I have bookmarked it and also
    added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the excellent jo.

  16. 16 best eye cream for wrinkles July 10, 2014 at 6:23 am

    You should be a part of a contest for one of the highest quality
    blogs online. I am going to recommend this website!

  17. 17 best face creams July 6, 2014 at 6:31 am

    Its not my first time to visit this web site, i am visiting
    this web page dailly and get nice facts from here everyday.

  18. 18 www.oceanictournaments.com July 3, 2014 at 8:25 am

    If you would like to increase your familiarity only keep visiting this web page and be updated with the most up-to-date gossip posted here.

  19. 19 Flawless Beauty REviews June 16, 2014 at 1:58 pm

    Hi to every one, because I am truly eager
    of reading this webpage’s post to be updated daily.
    It consists of fastidious information.

  20. 20 Celinda July 25, 2013 at 7:44 pm

    Howdy, There’s no doubt that your site may be having web browser compatibility problems. Whenever I look at your blog in Safari, it looks fine however, when opening in Internet Explorer, it’s got
    some overlapping issues. I simply wanted to give you a quick heads up!
    Aside from that, wonderful blog!

  21. 21 Pure Collagen Skin Care Reviews July 14, 2013 at 12:15 pm

    I do trust all of the ideas you’ve offered to your post. They are really convincing and will definitely work. Still, the posts are very short for novices. May just you please extend them a little from next time? Thanks for the post.

  22. 22 Luminique Skin Care June 16, 2013 at 2:58 pm

    You’re so cool! I don’t think I have read through anything like that before.
    So great to find someone with a few unique thoughts on this issue.
    Seriously.. many thanks for starting this up. This site is one thing that’s needed on the internet, someone with a little originality!

  23. 23 skin care May 6, 2013 at 3:04 pm

    Hi there I am so happy I found your blog page, I really found you by accident, while I
    was searching on Bing for something else, Regardless I am
    here now and would just like to say thanks for a fantastic post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at the moment but I have book-marked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the great work.

  24. 24 Marissa April 21, 2011 at 4:23 am

    I loved the adventure of finding new random friends in my neighbourhood or neighbouring neighbourhoods. It didn’t matter their age or if they went to my school – we seemed to find each other.

    Are kids allowed to bike alone these days? I am pretty sure there were the same amount of predators and creepy peeps now as when we grew up but my friends-with-kids don’t seem to allow the same amount of freedom I remember having as a kid.

    Great post – love your blog. It’s about parenting but as a non-human parent (furbabies) I still enjoy! Kudos!

    • 25 Mama Tortoise April 21, 2011 at 9:28 am

      Hi Marissa, Thanks for commenting! Sad, but true, children are not really ‘allowed’ to be alone outside anymore. Unless you’re my kids! Glad that you are gleaning something from the blog.

      -Laura

  25. 26 Mama Tortoise April 19, 2011 at 5:50 am

    Thanks for the comments, everyone.

    I agree that distance between kids is a key barrier to impromptu play. But then MJ told me his story of riding his bike to nearby farms to play with ‘neighbourhood’ kids. When kids are young, it’s harder to encourage impromptu play, but as kids get older, playdates will hopefully become a thing of the past.

    Nra – thank you so much for pointing out about working Moms. You’re absolutely right, this makes playdates an obvious solution. Just as long as planned time is balanced with unscheduled play time.

    -Laura

  26. 27 Nra April 13, 2011 at 2:53 pm

    I never had playdates as a child but I also had enough siblings close enough in age that it was likely never needed.

    I find that playdates tend to happen with kids that live far from my children and those children/parents represent lifestyle choices I don’t often agree with but expose my children to differences I would not have exposed them too.

    I live in an aging neighbourhood and on my street there are not children of a similar age to mine making the impromptu play session not likely to happen for my children.

    Another barrier to the impromptu play session is the rising number of working moms – kids are just not in the neighbourhood. And I think some working moms may use the playdate to have the opportunity to see their children at play.

    And I must admit that playdate is often cover me needing time to chat with other moms and it has little to do with how my children get along with the other mom’s children.

    Great post!

  27. 28 Michelle April 13, 2011 at 1:44 pm

    I wonder if part of the issue is the “spread” of the city? Kids don’t necessarily attend the neighbourhood school or participate in neighbourhood activities, and may not know kids in their area or prefer to play with kids that live elsewhere. As a result of school boundaries our son was given placement in the closest school to our home (argh) and instead goes to a school more than 10 km away. We love the school, but the distance means that his school friends usually live closer to the school. And so we make playdates. Door knocking isn’t an option. Fortunately, we also have a great group of neighbours, including children my sons’ ages and impromptu sunny-weather-get-togethers are becoming the norm. How old do I feel, longing for the “good ol’ days?”

  28. 29 Pamella April 13, 2011 at 12:19 pm

    I too lived in the city and played like this too. Mom and dad never really knew where I was. I would just wander home if I had to eat or use the bathroom.

  29. 30 Daniel April 13, 2011 at 10:34 am

    Thank-you for this. I’m glad I’m not the only one that doesn’t get the whole playdate thing. When I was a kid in the big bad city I went to friend’s homes unplanned all the time.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Tortoise on the Loose and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other followers

Archives

Categories

Inspiration for free-range parenting or simple living

2011 Canadian Weblog Awards

