Slow Saturdays – The Lost Art of Public Transit

Slow Saturdays is a weekly challenge related to slow parenting. The challenges are intended to break down a large project into smaller, more manageable pieces. Try it for yourself. You are, as always, encouraged to post comments. Tell us your story.

It feels like once you have kids, taking public transit is somehow out of the question. The most common discussion I hear from soon-to-be parents, or parents who are expecting another child, is what vehicle they will need to buy. Maybe this is just because I live in Edmonton – total car country – or because this post reveals my circle of acquaintences (other stereotypical middle class families), but public transport seems like more and more of an impossibility as an option for families. But I used to take the bus and train all the time! And when I worked full-time, the Bear and I commuted every day to work/daycare on the train. However, since I’ve had Banana, I’ve relied more heavily on the car. Time to bring back the lost art of riding the bus/train.

The Challenge – Take public transit this week with the kids. I’m planning on taking a trip to Churchill Square with the Bear and Banana. I know they will love the LRT.

5 Responses to “Slow Saturdays – The Lost Art of Public Transit”


  1. 1 Helen March 27, 2011 at 3:05 am

    When I lived in Calgary I lived on the C-train. There was never a need to drive really. But in Edmonton I found it very difficult to get around especially since the train only went from Clareview to the University. The thought of getting on a bus with two little ones and a stroller gave me shudders and now that I have 3 there is no way I will go on transit with only me. Not happening. But, Dave and I went out on a date a couple months ago – when we had that huge snow fall (can’t remember which one since there have been so many this year). Anyway, we took the train and walked to where we were going and had such fun. It provoked conversation between us which we probably wouldn’t have had if we were stuck in the car. It was an adventure the two of us were sharing. Sounds corny and silly but it was fun. It was one of the best dates we ever had and so city transit and snow will always have a warm spot in my heart.

    • 2 Big Mama March 28, 2011 at 4:03 pm

      I remember the thrill for my two girls on a bus to WEM from downtown during Teachers Convention, like another post the conversations were wonderful. Because of how the seats are arranged they could really see out and enjoy the sights. They found it fascinating, there and back.

    • 4 Mama Tortoise March 29, 2011 at 10:27 am

      Thanks for commenting, Helen! It’s so true about how public transit makes us relate to people differently. When I used to ride the train with the Bear she would always chat with other riders – many of whom were regulars. She got to know most of the commuters and loved the attention – so different from being in the car!


  1. 1 Adventures in Transportation « Tortoise on the Loose Trackback on April 1, 2011 at 4:40 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Tortoise on the Loose and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other followers

Archives

Categories

Inspiration for free-range parenting or simple living

2011 Canadian Weblog Awards

