How Kate Middleton Invaded My Week

“She’s a real princess?” gasped the Bear as she clutched the Hello Canada magazine with the full page spread of Kate Middleton. The Bear eyed Kate carefully, studiously examining the photos. Then, in the way mothers of teenage boys must feel when they discover certain reading material, I found the magazine preciously stored under the Bear’s pillow.

We do not usually have these sorts of magazines in the house. For whatever reason, my father jokingly brought the Hello Canada magazine into our home – purportedly for me to keep up on pop culture. We are also NOT the parents of ‘princess’ type girls. I vigilantly keep the pink and frills to a minimum. So it was interesting to find the Bear completely smitten with a soon-to-be princess.

It was not Kate Middleton that I took issue with. As far as celebrity worship goes, Kate is probably about as wholesome as it gets. But I did start to wonder about what it was exactly that the Bear was so enamored with. My feminist side took hold. Was this the beginning of her ‘princess’ years that so many parents had warned me about? Or did Kate represent the beginning of the Bear’s interest with the popular look? Was Kate going to be all about image to the Bear and nothing of substance?

As I overly worried about what this moment meant, MJ advised me to ask the Bear point blank.

“I like how the artist did the picture,” she explained.

“You mean, the photographer?” I asked.

“Yes, the way the photograph was taken. It’s really clever,” replied the Bear.

And I looked at the series of photos again. It was Kate at a pancake breakfast. The photographer had caught moment where Kate successfully flipped a pancake – the breakfast food in midair.

MJ looked at me triumphantly. Princess Kate in her designer jacket and styled hair meant nothing to the Bear. I had been caught in a moment of projecting of my fears.

This has left me wondering many other times I have inferred the wrong meaning from my children’s actions. How many times have we construed adult meaning from innocent childhood activities? Perhaps surmising that a little boy has a ‘girlfriend’ when they are really just kids who like each other. Or when we joke about a little girl’s love of clothes and drape her interest in an adult language with stereotypes about women and clothing. When really, all kids like to play dress up.

I guess, sometimes, we need to just ask the kids.

36 Responses to “How Kate Middleton Invaded My Week”


  1. 1 milf October 8, 2014 at 10:27 pm

    continuously i used to read smaller content which as well clear
    their motive, and that is also happening with this piece of writing which I am reading
    now.

  2. 2 SUPPLEMENT verdict October 7, 2014 at 12:18 am

    I enjoy what you guys are usually up too. Such clever work and coverage!
    Keep up the fantastic works guys I’ve you guys to blogroll.

  3. 3 descargar pokemon esmeralda September 22, 2014 at 8:40 pm

    Excellent way of explaining, and fastidious piece of
    writing to take information about my presentation topic, which i am going to convey in college.

  4. 4 herbal cleanse Extended health Heart plus detox September 22, 2014 at 3:59 am

    Valuable info. Lucky me I discovered your web site unintentionally, and I
    am shocked why this accident did not took place earlier!
    I bookmarked it.

  5. 5 cambogia plus September 20, 2014 at 5:17 pm

    Appreciating the time and effort you put into your site and detailed information you offer.
    It’s awesome to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same unwanted rehashed material.
    Fantastic read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to
    my Google account.

  6. 6 Www.Youtube.Com September 18, 2014 at 3:50 pm

    I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme.

    Did you design this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you?

    Plz answer back as I’m looking to design my own blog and would like
    to know where u got this from. cheers

  7. 7 precision nutrition coaching reviews September 18, 2014 at 11:33 am

    It’s difficult to find experienced people about this subject, but
    you seem like you know what you’re talking about! Thanks

  8. 9 Bettie August 2, 2014 at 1:53 pm

    Excellent post. I certainly love this site. Stick
    with it!

  9. 10 acne remedies overnight July 18, 2014 at 2:54 am

    No matter if some oone searches forr his vital thing,
    therefore he/she needs to be available that in detail, therefore that thing is maintained
    over here.

  10. 11 Ketone Cleanse Diet July 12, 2014 at 12:36 pm

    I think the admin of this site is in fact working hard for his site,
    for the reason that here every stuff is quality based data.

  11. 12 healthy food men June 28, 2014 at 12:30 pm

    Take into account the last time you prepared oats
    to the range. Those types of that are still desired inside the job
    market get excited about engineering. Sony Vivaz is definitely
    an allrounder cell phone.

  12. 13 raspberry ketone diet May 31, 2014 at 1:42 pm

    I am in fact thankful to the owner of this web site who has
    shared this impressive paragraph at at this time.

  13. 14 nu skin April 16, 2014 at 1:22 pm

    Hmm it seems like your blog ate my first comment (it was super
    long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new
    to everything. Do you have any tips and hints for novice blog writers?
    I’d definitely appreciate it.

  14. 15 Bianca March 31, 2014 at 6:43 pm

    When someone writes an piece of wwriting he/she retains the plan of a user in his/her mind that howw a user can know it.
    Therefore that’s why this paragraph is great. Thanks!

  15. 16 Christena March 25, 2014 at 10:58 am

    What’s up everybody, here every person is sharing
    such familiarity, so it’s pleasant to read this web site, and I used
    to pay a quick visit this web site all the time.

  16. 17 Isabel March 2, 2014 at 5:06 am

    You store energy during peak periods of sun
    light and consume the electricity from the batteries as you require 24 x 7.
    Taking into account the diverse spots of his service requirement, he iss always in demand and thus, generally stretched to the restrict.

    Good electricians show up on a job knowing exactly what needs to be done, and pretty much demand things be prepaed to their specification.

  17. 18 new bathroom vanity heights March 2, 2014 at 1:11 am

    Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in fat was a amusement
    account it. Look advanced to more added agreeable from you!
    By thee way, how can we communicate?

  18. 19 betting.ausbet.net.au February 28, 2014 at 4:30 pm

    As the niche of sports betting continues to rise in worldwide popularity, there appears to be no limit to the amount of money and effort put into the interest.
    There are times it might make more sense to bet a half or
    a quarter than a whole game. Just by increasing bandwidth, speed and memory alone cannot achieve this goal.

  19. 20 telephone cabling February 18, 2014 at 8:18 pm

    Made out of a mid center of glass surrounded by layers of defensive shielding
    materials, strand optic cable works by transmitting light as a substithte for electronic signs.
    Maximizing Stumble – Upon traffic is a straight
    forward process if you follow a few simple strategies.

    Telco Data has invested in state of the art cable testing equipment.

  20. 21 צילום מקצועי February 16, 2014 at 9:49 am

    Excellent post. I was checking continuously this blog and I am impressed!
    Very helpful information specially the last part 🙂 I care for such information much.
    I was looking for this certain information for a very long time.
    Thank you and best of luck.

  21. 22 Consoles February 16, 2014 at 9:48 am

    My brother recommended I might like this web site. He was totally right.
    This post actually made my day. You cann’t imagine
    just how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

  22. 23 Mobile Marketing Course February 16, 2014 at 9:44 am

    It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d certainly donate to this fantastic blog!
    I suppose for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
    I look forward to fresh updates and will share this site with my Facebook group.
    Chat soon!

  23. 24 food January 5, 2014 at 11:40 pm

    If some one needs to be updated with hottest technologies then he
    must be pay a visit this website and be up to date everyday.

  24. 25 circuit Training for Fat Loss October 18, 2013 at 5:16 pm

    Buyers usually are proficient in anything on account of the particular unbelievable improvement throughout marketing communications.

    Currently all people are effectively alert to the particular corollaries associated with lazy life-style your aerobic vascular issues,
    any feasible cardiovascular assault, fatness and the like.
    However most of us only can’t subscribe to a day-to-day training system, with regard to we all endure scarcity of their time.
    The most effective Home gym was created bearing in mind the
    particular would like associated with people plus your full spouse and children.
    Your house function place allows you to determine within the finest privacy of your dwelling, most likely taking pleasure in a favourite
    animation more than television set along with or tuning directly into your best audio funnel.
    It is possible to stroll on the home treadmill at
    any time from the day time from the almost
    all pleased ensemble along with provided you need.
    Prior to obtaining, the view of getting a home health and fitness center at home appears to be rich in promises.
    Yet in case you acquire without proper setting up, your entire thing isn’t going
    to arrived at just about any smart make use of.
    Therefore you should look at Home exercise space Critiques previous
    to investing in a home fitness.

  25. 26 Paige August 31, 2013 at 4:15 pm

    I have read so many articles concerning
    the blogger lovers however this article is actually a fastidious piece of writing,
    keep it up.

  26. 27 MitoSlim Reviews July 18, 2013 at 7:57 am

    I usually do not drop many responses, but I browsed a few comments here How Kate Middleton Invaded My Week | Tortoise on the Loose.
    I actually do have a few questions for you if you do not mind.
    Is it only me or does it seem like some of these responses look like
    they are coming from brain dead folks? 😛 And, if you are posting on additional
    sites, I would like to keep up with you. Would you make a list of every one of all your public pages like your Facebook page,
    twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

  27. 28 Raspberry Ketones Ultra July 10, 2013 at 12:10 am

    What i don’t understood is in fact how you’re not really
    much more well-liked than you might be right now.
    You’re very intelligent. You realize thus significantly with regards to this matter, produced me in my opinion believe it from numerous numerous angles. Its like women and men don’t seem to be fascinated unless it’s something to accomplish with Lady gaga! Your personal stuffs outstanding. All the time take care of it up!

  28. 29 Diet Patch Weight Loss June 9, 2013 at 11:29 am

    whoah this blog is great i really like studying your articles.
    Keep up the great work! You know, lots of persons are searching around for
    this information, you could aid them greatly.

  29. 30 re trying to lose weight April 16, 2013 at 5:32 pm

    Hello! I’ve been following your blog for a long time now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Atascocita Texas! Just wanted to say keep up the great job!

  30. 31 Website Template April 16, 2013 at 1:56 pm

    My brother recommended I may like this blog. He was
    once totally right. This publish actually made my day.
    You cann’t imagine simply how much time I had spent for this info! Thank you!

  31. 32 testoforcereview.net March 4, 2013 at 7:11 am

    Hey there! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading this post reminds me of my old room mate! He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this page to him. Fairly certain he will have a good read. Thanks for sharing!

  32. 33 Green Coffee Bean Extract January 10, 2013 at 10:26 pm

    I got this website from my pal who told me concerning this website
    and at the moment this time I am visiting this web site and reading
    very informative posts at this place.

  33. 34 Weight Loss Secrets December 12, 2012 at 8:55 am

    What’s up friends, how is the whole thing, and what you want to say regarding this piece of writing, in my view its truly remarkable designed for me.


  1. 1 Consolidated Credit Trackback on September 26, 2014 at 12:09 am
  2. 2 antler lamps Trackback on July 17, 2014 at 6:17 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Tortoise on the Loose and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other followers

Archives

Categories

Inspiration for free-range parenting or simple living

2011 Canadian Weblog Awards

