Grocery Cart Television

Considering that this week’s challenge is about counting the number of hours we are in front of a screen, I couldn’t resist posting this video!

It’s here…. Grocery carts with television! I haven’t seen them here in Canada, but I’m sure they are on their way. What do you think?

2 Responses to “Grocery Cart Television”


  1. 1 Renate February 19, 2013 at 7:40 pm

    wonderful post, very informative. I wonder why the other experts of this sector do not
    notice this. You must continue your writing. I’m sure, you have a great readers’ base already!

  2. 2 Michelle March 8, 2011 at 8:05 am

    AHHHHH!!! They have televisions in the kiddie carts at one of the Malls (South Centre?) in Calgary. I couldn’t believe it! I’ve also seen parents bring portable movie players for their kids, often toddlers, to watch while they grocery shop. It makes my blood boil.

    Grocery shopping is such a good time to spend some quality time with your kids – we talk about good food vs. treats, how to pick out nice vegetables and fruit, where our food originated, what meals we like (and don’t like), etc. Of course, it’s all very casual and the kids don’t realize that they’re learning anything.

    This also makes me think about rear DVD players in cars. We have one. But I reserve it for road trips or “emergencies” (like when I don’t want someone to fall asleep but still have an errand to run). There’s so much to see and talk about. The kids learn to really notice the happenings around them.

    I’ve found that our quality time slips in to our daily routine – the drive to/from school, grocery shopping, making dinner, etc. I don’t want to fill those spaces with television or computers. That said, I do let the kids watch TV, if they’re interested or in need of some down time. It doesn’t usually hold their attention for more than 20 minutes, but I really appreciate the break 🙂


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Tortoise on the Loose and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other followers

Archives

Categories

Inspiration for free-range parenting or simple living

2011 Canadian Weblog Awards

