Slow Saturdays – Just go to bed

Slow Saturdays is a weekly challenge related to slow parenting. The challenges are intended to break down a large project into smaller, more manageable pieces. Try it for yourself. You are, as always, encouraged to post comments. Tell us your story.

One of my struggles is finding enough time for a healthy amount of sleep. I find that time for myself or with MJ often trumps sleep and I end up going to bed later than intended. As our house feels so busy during the day, I treasure the quiet evenings of adult-only time. Unfortunately, this has left me chronically overtired.

The challenge – pick a night this week to go bed early. No screen time in the bedroom (TV, computer, etc), just an opportunity to relax in bed at least an hour earlier than you normally do. How do you feel?

5 Responses to “Slow Saturdays – Just go to bed”


  1. 1 tortoise time pieces August 7, 2013 at 9:02 am

    Woah this site is extremely good everyone loves looking at the articles you write. Keep in the terrific do the job! You currently know, loads of person’s need rounded with this info, you might enable them to significantly.

  2. 2 Mama Tortoise February 1, 2011 at 6:22 am

    Thanks for your stories, Pamella, Michelle and Heather!

    Isn’t is sad that sleep seems to be the one thing we are okay cheating ourselves out of as parents? The more busy things get, the more we tend to see sleep as a luxury, an indulgence, rather than a bodily requirement.

    I’ve been trying to stay away from the computer during the late hours. E-mail can easily suck all my time away from something as basic as sleep.

  3. 3 Pamella January 29, 2011 at 8:22 pm

    Great challenge! I am going to try this week!

  4. 4 Michelle January 29, 2011 at 8:16 pm

    And here I am at 12.15 am, reading blogs and cropping photos from our vacation. Both of which could wait until morning. Like you, and many parents, I’m sure, I love the quiet time. Whether to myself or with Craig, I need my evenings to relax and process my day. A little extra sleep would definitely do me some good! A great challenge this week…

  5. 5 Heather January 29, 2011 at 7:04 pm

    I fell asleep with Joseph last night at about 8:30 trying to put him down. It was a stressful week at work and with home stuff going on. And I didn’t wake up until 8am (still in my clothes and still in Joseph’s bed). But I felt great this morning. Fully rested and ready to take whatthe day was going to give us. This is definately something that I struggle with, finding time to relax after work while spending time with both Joseph and Trevor. I can hardly make it through a movie these days.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Tortoise on the Loose and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other followers

Archives

Categories

Inspiration for free-range parenting or simple living

2011 Canadian Weblog Awards

