Happy Birthday to Tortoise on the Loose

Yup, it’s been a whole year! It’s been 67 posts and over 5500 views. In terms of slowing down, our family has seen some changes: we now only eat homemade bread, we have cut out cable TV, and I have not returned to full-time work. We have had some interesting experiments – there was the time that we tried making cheese.

It feels great to have seen through an entire year. But I’m also ready to make a few tweaks to the blog.

I’ve added a Friends of Tortoise on the Loose on the sidebar. I want to do this to recognize other bloggers who frequently send me traffic, as well as Edmonton businesses or organizations that I support. Most recently, for instance, The Birth Source newsletter was kind enough to link to Tortoise on the Loose. This list will be a work in progress.

After some reflection and e-mail comments, I’ve also decided to add a weekly column on Saturdays titled ‘Slow Saturday’. This will be in addition to regular blog posts. ‘Slow Saturdays’ will be dedicated to mini-challenges to slow down. These are challenges that I am imposing on myself and/or recommending to readers. Get ready to play along – we start next Saturday.

Finally, I’ve created a Tortoise on the Loose Facebook Page. Unfortunately, I’m stumped on some of the details of connecting to this site. Bear with me while I riffle through the FAQs and Help sections on Facebook!

Last but not least, I want to send out a big thank you to the regular readers of this blog! I love the comments and the feedback. Keep it coming! Thank you!

6 Responses to “Happy Birthday to Tortoise on the Loose”


  1. 1 Mama Tortoise January 22, 2011 at 4:12 am

    Thank you to everyone! I’m looking forward to the coming year.

  2. 2 hereticsanonymous January 18, 2011 at 5:31 am

    Hey, nicely done. Happy Birthday. Am I too much of a GNU atheist to be a friend?

  3. 3 roma January 17, 2011 at 6:16 pm

    Agree with all of the above. Love reading the post and the inspiring ideas you pass along. Looking forward to hearing your tips on Slow Saturdays too! Happy Birthday, Mama Tortoise!

  4. 4 Gillian January 17, 2011 at 11:53 am

    Happy birthday to you! It’s been a year of great reads and I look forward to many more!

  5. 5 Michelle January 17, 2011 at 6:43 am

    Congrats on a successful first year, Mama T! I look forward to your blog posts. They give me pause and gently suggest that I reflect on my own life’s pace. Wishing you continued success.

  6. 6 Kristy January 17, 2011 at 6:08 am

    Happy Birthday, Mama Tortoise! We love reading your blog!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Tortoise on the Loose and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other followers

Archives

Categories

Inspiration for free-range parenting or simple living

2011 Canadian Weblog Awards

