Grab the Snack and Run

We’re going out and I know that my hypoglycemic daughter will have a melt down if I don’t have a snack readily available. I glance through the cupboards – juice box and a granola bar. And we’re off.

I’m as guilty as many – the convenience snack. I’ve developed a healthy loathing of the convenience dinner. You won’t catch me feeding any type of the nuke ‘em & serve em’ dinners to my family. But when it comes to snack time, I admit that I’ve gradually succumbed to convenience foods. Not everyday, but semi-regularly I offer up pre-packaged Craisens, granola bars, juice boxes and fruit/vegetable bars. You know, the pseudo-healthy snacks that make you think you’re making a good choice? It wasn’t always this way, but lately I seem to have been drawn into this weird world of ‘its easier to give the kid something prepackaged.’

So we’re heading out of the house the other day and I reach for an apple for myself. I pause, then grab another apple for the Bear. I leave behind any pre-packaged nonsense. The reaction? The Bear was happy for the apple. It dawned on me that if the Bear is hungry, she doesn’t care much about what we give her. She likes apples. Why would I think that she’d prefer something more complicated?

I know that the time will soon arrive when she’ll be begging me for the snack d’jour of the playground. For now, while she still doesn’t yet feel those pressures, I’m going to make an effort to avoid the convenience snacks.

New resolution. Cut out convenience snacks and better utilize the water bottle.

2 Responses to “Grab the Snack and Run”


  1. 1 Mama Tortoise July 25, 2010 at 5:44 pm

    You’re so right, Perna! Funny what we deem as ‘convenient’ food!

  2. 2 Prerna July 23, 2010 at 1:15 am

    Totally agree with you. It is “convenient” to reach for the junk but it is even more “convenient” to reach for good health. Leave apples or dried fruit on the countertop in bowl or jar and chances are you’ll be snacking on them more than on crisps and cookies..


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Tortoise on the Loose and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other followers

Archives

Categories

Inspiration for free-range parenting or simple living

2011 Canadian Weblog Awards

