10,001 Ways to Live Large on a Small Budget – Book Review

I have been an occasional reader of the WiseBread blog. Their site is dedicated to personal finance tips written by a variety of contributors. In 2009, they published their top 10,001 tips in a book format, 10,001 Ways to Live Large on a Small Budget.

The book is divided into two sections, frugal living and personal finance. The frugal living portion offers tips on maintaining your quality of life while saving money. It covers topics such as: food and drink; travel; health and beauty; fun and entertainment; shopping and bargain hunting; green living; and education and self-improvement. The personal finance section offers advice on: financial planning and budgeting; credit cards and debt; investing your money; housing and home improvement; career and money-making ideas.

I picked up the book as I am always looking for new ideas for cutting back and saving money. Upon cracking the cover, I initially felt that I might not be their target audience. Many of the tips seemed obvious to me – buy food in bulk, do your own manicures/pedicures. These were tips that made me wonder about the other readers. I mean, we all know [hopefully] that if you are trying to save money, then eating at home and not in a restaurant is an obvious way to cut back. Other tips were not applicable to my life – how to get more from my healthcare dollar or how to cheaply plan a wedding. And some seemed downright ridiculous – flirt in order to get yourself a free coffee, choose to educate yourself in a career that will forgive your student loan such as teaching or nursing, stash your cash in a tampon box because thieves will never look there.

While the book didn’t hold much advice that I could use on a daily basis, I did glean some tips that may serve me one day. For example, there was a great section on ways to travel the world for free by volunteering or participating on a working farm. There was also some sensible advice on how to evaluate your insurance in order to avoid over-insuring. I also enjoyed reading about one of their biggest money saving tips: Move far away from the Jones. This tip suggests that when you surround yourself with people who over-consume, it’s hard to resist spending more money than you can afford. And while some tips may have been obvious, they were good reminders. For example, the best way to get out of debt is to stop accumulating new debt.

I was looking for a book to give me some new ideas, and 10,001 Ways to Live Large on a Small Budget did just that. As it is a compilation of tips, readers will likely only find a handful that will actually fit their lives. But that handful of tips might be just the inspiration they were looking for.

Not a book to read cover-to-cover. Easy to skim. Best as a library book.

9 Responses to “10,001 Ways to Live Large on a Small Budget – Book Review”


  1. 1 buy cheap watches July 27, 2013 at 10:55 am

    When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and
    now each time a comment is added I get three emails with
    the same comment. Is there any way you can remove people from that service?
    Cheers!

  2. 2 move residential July 12, 2013 at 2:59 pm

    Be safe Check that all furniture is fire retardant6
    Test carbon monoxide alarms and smoke alarms are working properly & do you have
    any queries regarding the programme. Richard Roberts, president
    of Blackstone Real Estate Advisors, said that even though they hadn’t received any written communication from the administration to be given only on having an annual man and van hire fee of 1%. Why weren’t
    there fire drills at home and in the heart of the UK property
    portfolio Nama now controls was 8.

  3. 3 cheats for candy crush June 29, 2013 at 7:17 pm

    Once you decide on the location, the file will probably be saved.
    What could be the essence of playing your Xbox 360 if you can’t get beyond a selected stage or level. The NASCAR schedule lists the events that are about to transpire inside the coming months, and so are often released ahead of the start of every season for each division with the races.

  4. 4 life quotes uk June 10, 2013 at 3:40 am

    I am really enjoying the theme/design of your site.
    Do you ever run into any internet browser compatibility
    problems? A couple of my blog readers have complained about my site not operating
    correctly in Explorer but looks great in Opera. Do you have
    any solutions to help fix this issue?

  5. 5 www.jeffloans.co.uk May 25, 2013 at 3:45 am

    Hmm is anyone else having problems with the images on this blog loading?
    I’m trying to determine if its a problem on my end or if it’s
    the blog. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

  6. 6 buy best cheap luxury perfumes May 22, 2013 at 6:31 pm

    Hey! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a team of
    volunteers and starting a new project in a community in the same niche.
    Your blog provided us beneficial information to work on. You have done a
    wonderful job!

  7. 7 life insurance advice May 20, 2013 at 9:26 pm

    Terrific article! That is the kind of information that should be shared across the net.
    Disgrace on the seek engines for now not positioning this publish higher!

    Come on over and discuss with my web site .
    Thanks =)

  8. 8 halloween costumes for men May 17, 2013 at 2:34 am

    It is perfect time to make some plans for the future and it’s time to be happy. I have read this post and if I could I want to suggest you some interesting things or suggestions. Perhaps you could write next articles referring to this article. I want to read even more things about it!

  9. 9 best cheap Stairlifts online May 15, 2013 at 6:05 pm

    I’m no longer sure the place you are getting your info, however great topic. I must spend a while learning more or working out more. Thank you for magnificent information I was searching for this information for my mission.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Tortoise on the Loose and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other followers

Archives

Categories

Inspiration for free-range parenting or simple living

2011 Canadian Weblog Awards

