Cutting the cable

It’s official. The cable has been cut. We no longer have cable TV.

Not that we were big TV watchers to begin with. We have always felt that TV can turn us into lazy lumps. But we did enjoy a bit of downtime. So, we indulged. But recently we have got discouraged with the advertisements, the cost of cable, and the lack of programming that we wanted.

After borrowing a friend’s cord to connect our laptop to our one and only television, we quickly realized that the shows we watch can easily be found online and then viewed on our television set. We also reasoned that we could always borrow movies or season series on DVD from the library.

Cutting the cable is part of our effort to slow down and simplify our life. Rather than watch TV, we know that we’re better off doing other things as a family or couple. We are also trying to save money, and the cost of cable is a simple thing to cut out of the budget. Additionally, the shows that we will end up watching online or on DVD will be planned and controlled. This is in contrast to settling onto the couch to ‘see what is on’ or channel surfing.

I’m excited about the impact on our daughters’ lives as they grow up with limited and planned television…

The Bear had a friend over the other day. When her friend came into our home, one of the first things she asked was if she could watch TV. I explained that The Bear was only allowed TV on weekends and that there were lots of other things to do. After an afternoon of play dough, puddle jumping and sidewalk chalk, she didn’t want to go home. In my opinion, it was a far more enjoyable afternoon than one spent in front of the television set.

Imagine when, as a family or couple, we experience such a realization on a daily basis! Here’s to more enjoyable, worthwhile and productive time together.

Some things to think about:

Estimated time per week that MJ and I watched advertisements:
80 minutes (5 hours of TV per week, approximately 8 minutes of ads for each ½ hour show)

Average number of hours an American watches TV per month:
153 hours (NielsenWire, May 20, 2009)

Average number of hours a Canadian child watches TV a week:
14 hours (Statistics Canada, 2005)

True or false? True TV watching is down because people (especially those aged 18-24) are consuming more media online.
True, however only slightly. And the number of hours spent with other screens (IPods, video games, computers) has increased. (National Post, March 9, 2010)

24 Responses to “Cutting the cable”


  1. 1 playtex bras July 2, 2014 at 6:15 pm

    Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have truly
    enjoyed browsing your blog posts. After all
    I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write
    again soon!

  2. 2 beats By dre March 27, 2014 at 3:51 pm

    It’s very easy to find out any matter on web as compared to textbooks, as I found
    this piece of writing at this website.

  3. 3 beats by dre pro white March 27, 2014 at 2:59 pm

    I want to to thank you for this very good read!!
    I absolutely enjoyed every little bit of it. I have you book marked
    to check out new things you post…

  4. 4 GHD Australia Outlet March 27, 2014 at 1:32 am

    I was recommended this web site via my cousin. I’m not certain whether or not this publish is written via him as no one else
    know such detailed about my difficulty. You are incredible!

    Thanks!

  5. 5 beats headphones March 26, 2014 at 4:49 pm

    I have been surfing online more than 4 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours.
    It is pretty worth enough for me. In my view, if all webmasters and bloggers made good
    content as you did, the web will be a lot more useful than ever before.

  6. 6 GHD Straightener Australia March 26, 2014 at 12:55 pm

    An impressive share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a
    co-worker who had been conducting a little research on this.
    And he actually ordered me dinner due to the fact that I discovered it for
    him… lol. So let me reword this…. Thank
    YOU for the meal!! But yeah, thanks for spending some time to discuss this topic here on your web site.

  7. 7 http://www.montblanc-pens.us March 14, 2014 at 10:58 pm

    Good answers in return off this question with genuine arguments and
    teoling everything concerning that.

  8. 8 great Clips prices March 3, 2014 at 1:09 pm

    Greetings from Los angeles! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to browse your site on my iphone
    during lunch break. I really like the information you provide here and can’t wait
    to take a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how
    fast your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI,
    just 3G .. Anyways, awesome blog!

  9. 9 Lavon February 10, 2014 at 2:21 am

    hello there and thank you for your information – I have certainly picked
    up anything new from right here. I did however expertise some technical
    issues using this website, since I experienced to reload the website
    many times previous to I could get it to load correctly.

    I had been wondering if your web hosting is OK? Not that
    I am complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will
    very frequently affect your placement in google and could damage your quality score if
    ads and marketing with Adwords. Well I am adding this RSS to my email and could look out for a
    lot more of your respective interesting content.
    Make sure you update this again soon.

  10. 10 Rosaline January 31, 2014 at 10:19 am

    I rarely leave a response, however I browsed a few of the remarks on this page Cutting the cable | Tortoise on the Loose.
    I do have a couple of questions for you if it’s okay.
    Is it simply me or does it appear like some of these
    comments look as if they are left by brain dead people?
    😛 And, if you are posting at additional online social sites, I’d like to keep up with you.
    Would you list of every one of all your public pages like
    your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

  11. 11 Justin January 25, 2014 at 12:29 am

    Hi there this is kind of of off topic but I was wondering if blogs use
    WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML.
    I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding know-how so I wanted to get advice from
    someone with experience. Any help would be enormously appreciated!

  12. 12 ACLS Practice Test January 9, 2014 at 11:53 pm

    Hello! Do you know if they make any plugins to safeguard against hackers?
    I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve worked
    hard on. Any recommendations?

  13. 13 "work from home" September 22, 2013 at 12:43 am

    I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own weblog and was wondering what all is needed to get setup?
    I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?

    I’m not very internet savvy so I’m not 100% certain.
    Any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks

  14. 14 christian music jobs August 5, 2013 at 11:34 am

    Yesterday, while I was at work, my sister stole my iphone and tested to see if it
    can survive a thirty foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation.
    My apple ipad is now destroyed and she has 83 views.

    I know this is entirely off topic but I had to share it with someone!

  15. 15 business money software August 2, 2013 at 2:49 pm

    Hey! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any issues with hackers?
    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I
    ended up losing several weeks of hard work due to no
    back up. Do you have any methods to protect
    against hackers?

  16. 16 finance and accounting outsourcing August 2, 2013 at 2:43 pm

    Pretty great post. I simply stumbled upon your weblog
    and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed browsing
    your weblog posts. In any case I will be subscribing on your rss feed and I’m hoping you write once more very soon!

  17. 17 tax mutual funds August 2, 2013 at 2:14 pm

    Attractive part of content. I just stumbled upon your weblog and in
    accession capital to assert that I acquire in fact enjoyed account your blog posts.

    Anyway I’ll be subscribing to your feeds or even I fulfillment you get admission to persistently rapidly.

  18. 18 tax mutual funds August 2, 2013 at 2:09 pm

    Thanks to my father who shared with me on
    the topic of this webpage, this blog is actually remarkable.

  19. 19 Home Page May 18, 2013 at 1:44 pm

    Definitely believe that which you said. Your favorite justification seemed to be on the
    web the simplest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I definitely
    get annoyed while people think about worries that they plainly
    do not know about. You managed to hit the nail
    upon the top as well as defined out the whole thing without having
    side-effects , people could take a signal. Will probably be back to get more.

    Thanks

  20. 20 tideline March 16, 2010 at 5:31 pm

    Good for you. Our family had always been cable free until recently. I have to admit that it was nice to have cable during the Olympics, but now I find myself settling down on the couch to watch reality TV shows that I am wierdly being drawn to. I can forsee that the decision to get cable will be reversed again soon, especially as the warm summer weather approaches.

    • 21 Mama Tortoise March 17, 2010 at 4:55 am

      As a devoted Survivor fan, I completely understand the reality TV compulsion! (And MJ wouldn’t let us cut the cable until after the Olympics!) But it’s interesting what we perceive as necessary to our lives when it’s readily available. And I agree that with the summer approaching, TV watching drastically decreases anyway.


  1. 1 Slow Saturdays – Counting Screen Time « Tortoise on the Loose Trackback on March 5, 2011 at 5:13 pm
  2. 2 Happy Birthday to Tortoise on the Loose « Tortoise on the Loose Trackback on January 16, 2011 at 7:44 pm
  3. 3 Feeling Time Crunch While Slow Living « Tortoise on the Loose Trackback on June 18, 2010 at 3:42 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Tortoise on the Loose and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other followers

Archives

Categories

Inspiration for free-range parenting or simple living

2011 Canadian Weblog Awards

