CBC Documentary: Hyper Parents & Coddled Kids

I was kindly alerted by a Tortoise on the Loose reader that Carl Honore was part of the CBC documentary series, Doc Zone. CBC aired the documentary titled, Hyper Parents & Coddled Kids, on February 4. You can watch it online through the CBC website.

I thought that the portrayal of the hyper parent was a little extreme. I also wondered how a 27-year-old could make $90,000 one year and then declare bankruptcy the following year, and still be unwilling to give up her IPhone, Starbucks and pedicures. Is Gen Y, or the Millennials, really the product of hyper-parenting?

5 Responses to “CBC Documentary: Hyper Parents & Coddled Kids”


  1. 1 my profile March 21, 2014 at 7:37 pm

    Wow that was strange. I just wrote an very long comment but after I
    clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr…
    well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyhow, just wanted
    to say superb blog!

  2. 2 eloyvqol.skyrock.com August 6, 2013 at 5:05 pm

    Having read this I thought it was rather enlightening.
    I appreciate you taking the time and effort to put this content
    together. I once again find myself personally
    spending a significant amount of time both reading and leaving comments.
    But so what, it was still worthwhile!

  3. 3 webpage July 27, 2013 at 7:00 pm

    of course like your web-site but you need to
    take a look at the spelling on quite a few of your posts.
    A number of them are rife with spelling problems and I in finding it very troublesome to inform the truth however I’ll definitely come again again.

  4. 4 Nicholas April 18, 2013 at 10:44 pm

    I know this web page gives quality based posts and extra stuff, is there any
    other web site which presents these kinds of information in quality?

  5. 5 Krystle April 12, 2013 at 2:28 pm

    Oh my goodness! Awesome article dude! Thank you, However I am encountering problems with
    your RSS. I don’t understand why I am unable to join it. Is there anyone else getting similar RSS issues? Anybody who knows the solution can you kindly respond? Thanks!!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Tortoise on the Loose and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other followers

Archives

Categories

Inspiration for free-range parenting or simple living

2011 Canadian Weblog Awards

